The following was written as a part of an application for a small-business loan by a group of developers in the city of Monroe.

"A jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise. Currently, the nearest jazz club is 65 miles away; thus, the proposed new jazz club in Monroe, the C-Note, would have the local market all to itself. Plus, jazz is extremely popular in Monroe: over 100,000 people attended Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer; several well-known jazz musicians live in Monroe; and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly,' which airs every weeknight at 7 P.M. Finally, a nationwide study indicates that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author states opening a jazz club in Monroe would be a profitable investment. The Author bases his claim on lack of jazz clubs nearby and popularity of jazz in Monroe. Second claim is based on number of people attended to jazz festival last summer, rating of a jazz radio program and a nationwide study. Overall, the argument sounds logically consistent excluding few unstated assumptions made. If any evidence is stated about these assumptions, argument could be much stronger.

First, the author cites number of the attendants to last year’s jazz festival, and then claims these claims support that people of Monroe will be interested to a jazz club. However, number of attendants are only given for the last year, so it is unknown if last year’s statics are whether a part of the trend or an outlier. As an example, it is possible that a famous musician attended to the festival last year and this resulted in a higher number of attendants than expected. If information about other than last year’s festivals are given, the argument can be solidified further. Also, it is unknown how many attendants of festival were living in Monroe during the festival. Maybe most of the attendants were from other cities and only came for the festival. If this was true, the argument would lose its’ strength since the residents of other cities will not come to a jazz club in Monroe. Therefore, evidence about number of participants at previous years and percentage of attendants living in Monroe is important to evaluate the validity of the argument.

Lastly, there a several assumptions made by author regarding the nationwide study. Author assumes that results of the nationwide study is valid for Monroe. Since the nationwide study represents an average rather than a florid distribution, it may be not applicable to Monroe. Therefore, using results of the study would not make sense without checking applicability of the results to Monroe. Also, the study states spending is made for ‘jazz entertainment’. Jazz entertainment is rather vague term, it may consist purchase of jazz relating items, money spent on jazz concerts or other jazz related places. For instance, purchase of jazz albums could be biggest contribution to these spending and spending on jazz clubs could be lowest contributor. Therefore, assuming these spending will be mostly spent on jazz club and thus, jazz club being profitable is naive at best without knowing the distribution.

To sum up, the author must state some evidence about details of nationwide study and jazz festival of Monroe. Otherwise, his statement is not very trustable.