Governments should not fund any scientific research whose consequences are unclear.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The scientific research requires resources commensurate to the benefits which it brought upon the society, thus requires a funding. Since the resources of the governments are limited, some believes governments should not fund any research which lacks significant consequences. However, researches which lack significant foretold results should be also funded due to two specific reasons.

First of all, the scientific research supposedly having unclear consequences can lead to unexpected discoveries. Obviously, it is not possible to know absolutely whether a research would have great impact or not before the research has been made. The best way to estimate the consequences of the research beforehand is to make an educated guess based on the cumulative knowledge pertaining to the field of interest. However, it is certainly possible that the consequences of the research are beyond the scope of the level the field is on. Therefore, the research may have great impact on its respective field although it was estimated to have insignificant consequences. For instance, the research that proved the existence of the positron has engendered a new branch of physics, the elementary particle physics, was made to determine which way the cosmic energetic particles were coming from the core of the earth or from the space. If the research hasn’t been made just because there are not any clear consequences, the general consensus was that the particle come from the space which is true, maybe the physics wouldn’t be advanced as much as it did today.

Moreover, the main purpose of the scientific research is to understand the world around us, and understanding is always, sooner or later, beneficial to the mankind. Let’s think about the current state of our species. Every advancement we made, every shard of power we hold, every advantage we have over another species are extant thanks to our capability to understand the rules governing the world. Thus, every research that contributes to this understanding is important, even the research that seems like it would not have important results. As an example, the research about the relativity may seem irrelevant at the first glance, so called relativistic effects are negligible as long as speed of an object is not comparable to the speed of light and no man made device have never been close to that. Despite this fact, the research has been made, and we are able to use GPS thanks to its contributions to our understanding since the effects of relativity can be felt at orbit.

To conclude, the scientific research is an essential requirement for humankind to advance. Even though the resources are limited, and not allocating our resources to seemingly inconsequential research seems logical, history indicates this is not the case since it is possible that our current understanding is not advanced enough to understand prospective benefits or benefits would be prominent at the long-term. Therefore, the research should be funded, doesn’t matter if it is seemingly insignificant or not.