The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

There are two fundamental methods in teaching: Rewarding the good deeds and punishing the bad ones. The prompt above suggests that the former should be used, and bad actions must be ignored. However, punishment and rewards are both important ways, and they should be used together instead of praising the positive actions and ignoring the negative ones if one desires to raise a healthy young.

First, ignoring the negative actions would raise kids with underdeveloped responsibility, since the negative behaviors don’t cause anything. Responsibility is one of the fundamental traits that is required to live as a society, without it there wouldn’t be any way to trust each other. The main indicator of the sense of responsibility is the understanding of the repercussions that the negative behaviors can predicate. Thus, punishing the negative behaviors may help the young to develop the sense of responsibility whereas ignoring them would raise entitled children that keeps doing the bad behaviors since they are not able to comprehend the fact that the results of their actions can be detrimental. Examples can be seen at the daily life, the kids of the parents that ignored their offspring’s negative actions causes numerous problems. Hence, the ignoring negative actions would be detrimental to the society.

Moreover, praising the good actions wouldn’t always prevent the bad actions. Rewarding system would be beneficial for motivating kids to do a task but it is not sufficiently efficient when it comes to proscribing something dangerous to the kids. For instance, a kid who harmed a friend of themselves must be punished instead of rewarding the other kids who didn’t nothing wrong since the punishment is more intimidating for the kids, thus will prevent the harming behavior between the kids.

Certainly, some may claim that praising the good acts would be more beneficial for the psychology of the kids, whereas the punishing the bad acts would harm it due to the fact that it is based on threats and punishing kids, and hence kids shouldn’t be punished. Although the extreme punishments may cause grievous scars on the mind of a kid, the lesser punishments don’t have the same effects and have additional advantages compared to rewarding, such as yielding better results at prohibiting behaviors. However, the advantages of the rewarding can’t be neglected and incorporating both of them would give rise to better methods.

To conclude, the punishment plays a crucial role in helping kids to develop a sense of responsibility and more effective at prohibiting the negative behaviors. Even though it can be harmful if applied severely and the rewarding has numerous advantages compared to it, such as being more motivating and having long-term effects, it is a necessity to raise healthy people and should be used when necessary.