Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the prompt, the author avers that, Arctic deer population in Canada is declining due to global warming and bases his argument on decline reports from the local hunters and the reports regarding sea ice and global warming. Even though the argument given seems logical at first glance, there are some logical leaps, and three specific evidence is required to make the argument more persuasive.

First, are there any places that deer can live without seeing by hunters such as pristine hunters? The only indication about the deer number decline is the reports from the local hunters. Even though local hunters are encountering with the deer rarely, it doesn’t mean that the number of deer are decreasing. Perhaps, if there are other islands that hunters don’t visit, the dears try to stay away from the islands that the hunting occurs in order to survive. If that’s the case, there could be no decline of the deer at all, which weakens the argument significantly.

Secondly, are the bridges connecting islands to one another melted? As stated in the prompt, the deer travel through the islands through sea ice. The author cites the global trends about melting of the sea ice, but it is not mentioned whether these bridges are affected or not. It is quite possible that some of the bridges are not affected at all, and hence the argument could be totally irrelevant or slightly weakened depending on the answer.

Finally, are there any other factors that would cause deer population to lessen? The author surmises that the decline in the deer population caused by the global warming, but there could be other factors detrimental to deer, such as hunting. As given in the prompt, there are a lot of hunters that are hunting deer, which could explain the reason behind their decline and enervate the persuasiveness of the argument. The author should study the factors and recent changes that could affect the deer population and support the argument with their findings.

To sum it up, while the argument given could be possibly true, there are several evidences required to evaluate the validity of the argument. The author should buttress their opinion by including additional evidence about the deer decline, the effects of global warming on the bridges and the factors that could have been impactful on the deer population; these evidences may strengthen the argument if they are in favor of the argument.