The following appeared in a memo from the director of a large group of hospitals.

"In a controlled laboratory study of liquid hand soaps, a concentrated solution of extra strength UltraClean hand soap produced a 40 percent greater reduction in harmful bacteria than did the liquid hand soaps currently used in our hospitals. During our recent test of regular-strength UltraClean with doctors, nurses, and visitors at our hospital in Worktown, the hospital reported significantly fewer cases of patient infection (a 20 percent reduction) than did any of the other hospitals in our group. Therefore, to prevent serious patient infections, we should supply UltraClean at all hand-washing stations, including those used by visitors, throughout our hospital system."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the memo, the director suggests that all the hospital system should switch to ultraclean soap because it is better at eradicating the harmful bacteria than the one in use. The argument is based on a lab study and infection rates of a hospital in Worktown that uses ultraclean soap. Unfortunately, the argument is rife with the unsubstantiated assumptions and loses its persuasiveness if those assumptions prove unwarranted.

First, the author assumes that the success of the concentrated extra strength UltraClean would equate to the success of the regular solution of the UltraClean soap. However, the concentrated solutions tend to be more proficient at the reduction in bacteria compared to the regular solutions. So, it is possible that the regular-strength UltraClean performs worse than the liquid soap that is currently in use. If that’s the case, the author’s argument would weaken significantly. In order to reinforce his argument, the author should repeat the study with the regular concentration of the ultraclean soap.

Secondly, the author claims that the most significant reason behind lower patient infection rate of the hospital in Worktown is the usage of UltraClean soap. Also, there are not any information given about the patient infection rates of the hospital before starting to use UltraClean. Perhaps, the hospital was already better than the other hospitals before changing their soup, and thus, the infection rate was not related to the UltraClean at all. Moreover, it is also possible that though an increase occurred during the period UltraClean used, this rise was caused by other factors such as increasing the chlorine amount of water, hence the ultraclean’s effect were non-existent or insignificant. If this is true, the argument loses its coherency. The author should check and make sure that there were no recent changes in the hospital other than changing their soap.

Finally, the author assumes that the ultrasoap would prove itself better in preventing the serious bacterial infections than the currently used soap. Even if it’s assumed that the ultrasoap lowers the bacterial infection rate, it doesn’t translate to the lower amount of “serious” bacterial infections. For instance, bacteria percentages killed by the two soaps could be different, maybe the regular soap excels in killing the more harmful bacteria, whereas the ultrasoap excels in killing the bacteria that causes mild issues. Consequently, it is not outside of possibility that the regular soap is better at preventing the serious bacterial infections.

To conclude, all the evidence supporting the usage of the ultrasoap in the hospitals are based on numerous assumptions such as the regular solution would be better as much as the concentrated, the hospital’s lower infection rate is caused by the ultrasoap and average performance in the killing bacteria also equates a formidable performance in exterminating the more dangerous bacteria. While it is possible that the claim is true, it is not very compelling as it stands.