The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

The recommendation presents a view that I would mostly agree with . but one cannot entirely support the ‘all or nothing’ impression it gives.

Certainly, positive actions should be praised because it gives out convivial environment both for the teacher and the students. By approbation of positive action, a student gets motivation and confidence to perform dedicated task and be enthusiastic all the time. Considering a classroom scenario, where a student gives out the answer to a particular question asked without raising his/her hand. Reproaching this action will not only make a student less confident but it will lessen the chances of the student to again take part in the discussion session as well. On the other hand, if a student’s misbehavior, improper etiquette, or belligerent behavior is overlooked, then this will only exacerbate the environment of school.

Hence when the stakes are low than negative actions can be overlooked. However, it will be pernicious if the stakes are high. For example - When I was in high school, there was this student whose father was one of the trustees of the school management. Thus, he had brazen confidence to do whatever he thought was right. Also, due to fear of losing their jobs, the teachers were also neglectful of his misdoings i-e, he contrived his way out of punishments. Ultimately, he became a spoiled student and failed his 12th standard. The above example gives an important message that if a student’s wrong behavior is overlooked, then may result in negative consequences for the school as well as for the student himself.

On the other hand, if good and positive behavior is promote, ignoring the little negative ones can definitely ameliorate a student’s performance. For example- When I was in my sophomore year, there was this student who was not able to speak proper English because he came from a Hindi-medium school (Hindi- native language of India). He often mixed Hindi words while speaking in English. One would expect that the teachers will scold him but instead they helped him learn English by promoting his idiosyncrasies and eventually he was able to speak English fluently.

Hence, it can be rightly concluded that promoting positive behavior has its advantages when the stakes of negative actions are low. However, neglecting extreme negative actions can surely deteriorate the environment of school and make it untoward.