Many lives might be saved if inoculations against cow flu were routinely administered to all people in areas where the disease is detected. However, since there is a small possibility that a person will die as a result of the inoculations, we cannot permit inoculations against cow flu to be routinely administered.

The argument presented in the prompt is based on several unwarranted assumptions which when proved otherwise can seriously damage the conclusion made by the author. Firstly, it states that many lives are affected by the the cow flu, but it is not mentioned that how many lives ae actually affected by the same. Secondly, it states a direct contradiction stated in the first line of the argument that there is small possibility of death by cow flu. However, if there is a small possibility then how is it affecting many lives? Lastly, it assumes that death is the only factor considered for the permission of inoculations against cow flu to be routinely administered. The above fallacies are discussed in detail below.

Initially, the author is certain that many lives would have been saved if routine administration of inoculations against cow flu would have been done. However, the argument fails to clarify that how many lives are actually affected by the cow flu? is it so significant to affect a large proportion of the area where it is detected? Or is the proportion is so less that it wouldn't affect much to the surrounding area. For instance, if the proportion is too large then it would prove prudent to not administer the affected area in routine manner. Thus, if the above scenario is true then is would deteriorate the conclusion made by the author.

Secondly, the argument contradicts the very point it had made earlier than many lives would be saved. it is clearly stated that there is small possibility that a person would die as result of the inoculations,however, if the possibility is so low, the how is it affecting "many lives" as stated earlier. The argument here is equivocal to conclude anything regarding the death of a person by cow flu. Hence, a cogent scenario cannot be made as to conclude as relating to permission of inoculation against cow flu.

Lastly, the argument assumes that, death is the only factor contributing for the initiation of routine administration. As a matter of fact, it is a plausible case that even if the death rate for the said disease is low, it can cause in large chronic diseases and may be highly contagious. If the above case holds true than it would be a disaster not to administer innoculation against cow flu. There can a high probability that people suffer a chronic disease which in turn allows other diseases to be active inside an individual, which can lead to severe and insidious repercussions.

In the conclusion, the argument fails to provide a cogent case as make any solid conclusion regarding the issue. If more details and facts would have been given, then it would have been possible to assert the conclusion.