Schools should do more to prepare students for non-academic aspects of adulthood.

Education is certainly the most important aspect of a person’s life. What one learns in school creates the foundation of one’s life. But is education only limited in academic fields? Are there no important aspects of education than having a high academic profile? At the heart of the debate over future of education is the question of this prompt: are academic subjects like mathematics and history more important than life values, ethics and morals? Many in India, believe that the system of rote memorization and strict quantitative evaluation is necessary to sustain a healthy life style. The same people forget the account that adulthood is primarily non-academic, and school is meant to prepare students for adulthood. Thus, schools should indeed prepare students for non-academic aspects of adulthood.

At the heart of the recent financial crisis was the proliferation of sub-prime mortgages, in which people without any capital were able to procure a mortgage the payments of which they would never be able to afford. How were so many people hoodwinked by predatory loans? It is because of education, in spite of all of math classes, did not prepare to tackle life problems. What is the use of calculus, which is only a subset of a student’s life will ever use in their lives or jobs, in comparison to lessons in reading contracts or investing intelligently?

Non-academic skills are as important as academic skills or even more on micro level as well as macro level. Most of the schools in India have a fixed syllabus in school, which every student must study who is attending that school. The aforementioned syllabus includes math and science as its primary subjects with a very little focus on subjects such as, moral science, music, arts, sports etc. So, students who are willing to go to non academical field of study faces enormous difficulty in getting a platform to show their talents and skills. Compared to the school in countries like USA and China, which focus on both academic and non-academic aspect of education allow students to explore their talents and afford them to progress and make a career in their respective area of interest.

Of course, many educational theorists argue that the workplace is increasingly being channeled in jobs requiring high academic qualification and technical proficiency. These theorists believe that the only way of remaining competitive in this fast pacing world is to ensure that schools focus on academics such as math and science. However, it turns out that the most advanced tech-companies in the world claim that mental flexibility is far more important to their hiring decision than academic knowledge.

An academic education is inarguably one of the important aspect of adulthood. But these skills are merely one part what makes a person a well-rounded individual. For too long Indian schools are focus on quantifiable metrics of achievement; if we were to complete in the world, it is necessary to design new education system premised in preparing students for the lives they are most likely to face, rather than some idealistic concept.