An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

The following argument presented by the author is flawed for various reasons. The argument makes a lot of unnecessary assumptions which when proved otherwise can certainly make the conclusion fall apart.

First of all, the author assumes that if farmers will be paid increased subsidies, then the farmers will practice growing more of the new varieties of millet and sell it. However it is nowhere mentioned that the farmers will sell the new millet at the same price as of old millet. Since the conclusion depends on people readily accepting this new variety of millet, then if proved less effective on people's acceptance of this variety will make conclusion fall apart. For example, if the farmers try to sell this new variety for higher price than the old one's, then the people will probably be reluctant to the new one's. Also, it is assumed in the argument that even when the copious amount of old millet is already in supply, it is possible that the varied taste of the new millet may not be liked by many people. Thus, conclusion will fall apart if this comes true.

Secondly, argument assumes that the government give subsidy to all the farmers to grow this new variety. Subsidies to all literally all farmers? What is the government budget in the agricultural sector? These factors are not mentioned in the argument. Also, it is assumed that people will find millet as an only source of vitamin A. What if other sources of vitamin A are available at a cheaper cost? If there is another source of millet in market at cheaper rate than people will definitely prefer the cheaper one. Hence, if the government promoted only this type of millet than it will be in loss.

Lastly, the financial and economical condition of the people is not known. What if majority of people may not be able to afford this variety of millet. For example, if the average household income of the country is low, then they would prefer cheaper variety food supply. Thus, the government objective will fail.

Since the argument depends on lots of unwarranted assumptions and conjecture, i cannot be safely said that new type of millet should be promoted to a large extent.