Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.

In the presented argument, there are various assumption taken, which when proven wrong , can make the conclusion fall apart completely. For instance, the author compares the late-night news to be more important than the news telecasted in the daytime, the reason for this is unknown. Also. there are various assumption which are nowhere support in the argument.

Firstly, it is stated that 'late night' news has been assigned more to national news than to weather and local news. It is assumed that people are viewing the same news channel more in the night rather than in day. Or it might be possible that the local and weather news are telecasted for sufficient of time in the day. If this held true, then the whole point of the conclusion will be held invalid. For example, if the viewers of the same channel in the day is more than that in night, then there is no meaning in alloting weather report or local news more time in the night.

Secondly, it is assumed that the complaints that are coming against the current channel policy, are coming from a huge proportion of the people who view this channel. However , if the case in reversed, that is, if the complaints are redundant and are coming on from the minorities than it would be not a wise decision to re-allot the former schedule of telecasting different programs in the channel. For example, if only a certain group of people are complaining via different measures like emails, letters etc, it would seem that the complaints are rife but in reality they are coming from a small group via different measures.

Lastly, one of the major flaw is that, the argument assumes that the late-night airing of program only constitute towards the advertisement revenue. Additionally, it is clearly stated that the channel has been airing the same schedule of programs for the past year, while the advertisement contracts have just been canceled. it may be possible that, the quality of national news is not up to the mark because of which the channel is losing the advertisement contracts. Perhaps, it may be possible that advertisement companies have found a better way of advertisement than to advertise in this news channel. If this possibility holds true, there will be no benefit conferred to the channel even if it resumes to former level of time devoted to weather and local news.

The argument is basically based on three logical fallacies, which when proved effective can render the conclusion unwarranted. However, if more details would have been provided as to what is resulting in above scenario than a clear and cogent case would have been made by the argument.