The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

The best way to teach (someone) is to praise their positive actions and to ignore their negative ones. While the claim nails one of the most effective methods of teaching - encouragement, it completely misses one factor - feedback. A child, student, person cannot learn anything till he is given feedback for his existing ideas and thoughts. It would be immensely wrong for a teacher to ignore a student's negative actions.

Consider a toddler, learning to talk, learning how to behave, learning how to live. If his parents do not correct his mistakes, how is he ever going to even know whether he's making any mistakes? Now consider him throwing a tantrum. Of course, he needs to be told that's wrong. Ignoring insolent behavior will more often than not lead to him getting a false idea of the way the world works. He'll be under the impression that he can get whatever he wants simply by throwing a few tantrums, and he'll also believe that there's nothing wrong with that.

Of course, a teacher always needs to remember that there's a way of giving feedback. He does not need to lacerate the student, he can be gentle in his guidance. That would be another issue altogether, to strike a balance between strict enforcement of rules and gentle learn-it-yourself kind of a discipline. However, ignoring negative actions is in no way warranted.

Even while learning new skills, we always want feedback, to know different ways of doing things, to know more efficient techniques in those domains. Yes, the feedback can be quite harsh sometimes, but that's the only way we learn. It is a proven method.

Again, there are very few cases where the negative actions need to be ignored. For example, consider this scenario - a student is sitting with his tutor the night before his Math exam. He is extremely weak, and has already failed the test so many times that he has lost count. This time, he cannot afford to fail. He fails not because he does not know how to solve any of the questions, but he lacks confidence, and is unable to get right even the ones he does know. In this case, it would probably be wise to ignore his negative actions, and focus on the few questions that he can get right, and just try to make sure that he gets those right on the actual test.