“Over the past year, our late night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of local and weather news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news programs have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The memorandum argues that restoring the time the television station gives to weather and local news would attract more viewers and stop the station's revenue loss. The argument is flawed for the following reasons.

Firstly, the argument assumes that most of the complaints regarding the coverage of weather and local news pertain to the actual time devoted to these aspects of news. There is no evidence to preclude the possibility that the complaints may actually be regarding the quality of news. Another possiblity that is overlooked is that the viewers watching weather and local news may actually belong to the better educated or more vocal sections of the society who would like to see accurate news with good quality. Hence, we would need a thorough analysis of the content of the complaints to determine if the time duration is the real factor behind the increased volume of complaints.

Furthermore, the argument goes on to assume that the local businesses cancelled their advertisements during late night shows due to the reduced coverage of weather and local news. There is a strong possiblity that the reduction was due to a demographic shift in the channels people like to watch on the given television station. It may be possible that it is election time in the country and hence the viewers are mostly interested in knowing more about the nationwide geopolitical landscape. There is another interesting perspective: with the advent of technology, possibly people have now shifted to everyday devices like smartphones and tablets to catch up with the weather and news, hence local businesses may have started targetting their advertisement campaigns to these media. To ensure that we are not drawing false conclusions, the television station station should coordinate with local businesses to find out why they have stopped advertising.

Hence, as the previous lines of thought show, the conclusions drawn through the argument presented are premature and need to be backed up by more convincing evidence.