As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate

Our thinking ability improves as we use more and more advanced technology to solve problems.

Technology is being increasingly used to assist scientists and researches as they advent into their respective fields. As machines become more sophisticated, we can delegate the manual labor to them, hence untangling a complicated problem by abstracting out the easier portions. This allows us to focus our limited brain-power to the more difficult aspects of the task. Perhaps the most striking example is the 4-color theorem, which holds a pivotal position in the development of a key area of Mathematics called Graph Theory, was proven by computers! Essentially, mathematicians reduced the problem to various sub problems which could be solved by tedious case checking. The proof, that runs into hundreds of pages, would not have been possible in the 17th Century, when we did not have the required technology.

Historically, technology has always been a precusor to pathbreaking research, in domains that require a lot of thinking. The Hubble Space Telescope has been a technological marvel that has come as a boon to Theoritical Physicists looking to verify complicated theories about the deep universe. Advancements in medical equipments which can provide an accurate imaging of cancerous tumors has spurred research targeted at eradicated the dreaded disease. On a higher level, we can view technology as serving to push the boundaries of human thinking: the more complex the machines, the more one needs to think to improve it further!

However, not all is happy and dreamy in this world of rapid technological advancements. For a striking example, we need to look not too far than our schoolchildren. 5th Graders in many first world countries today cannot perform basic math computations without a calculator. There is an alarming trend of learners forgetting the basics due to their overdependence on technology.

Technology has been created by humans to further their advancements into various spheres of knowledge, and it has performed its task gracefully. As long as we do not become overdependent on technology, Humans would soar into the skies of intelligence.