The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

In our daily life, we are somehow always exposed to teaching others or ourselves, directly or indirectly. Every leaf from our life is a story of continuos learning. The author here states that the best way of teching is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones. But can such a one-sided approach to teaching ever succeed in reality? Lets have a look at the examples below.

Our most primevial teacher are the ancient epics. Anyone acqainted with the great epic Mahabharata, will know that King Dhritarashtra was so blind in affection for his eldest son Duryodhana, that he always praised him and regularly ignored his wrongdoings. As we all know, what happened later is history. The tragedy of Kurukshetra occured mainly due to the evil plans of Duryodhona. But he was privy to some of the graetest teachers who were around that time. But still, his father, his greatest teacher, praised only his positive actions , ignoring the neghative ones, thus pushing Duryodhoan into a deep abyss of darkness from which he could never come out.

Another common example is the case with the mordern class. Say there is a student who is very good in studies and has a lot of influence in class, but he is very jealous of others and is always trying to mislead others. Now, if a teacher, despite knowing this nature of the boy, chooses to praise only his positive actions ignoring negative ones, that class is bound to be negatively affected. This phenomenon has been extensively studied in pshycology.

Building upon the earlier examples, I can also present another example. In a class which teaches business management, if a teacher there points out that stocks are a very lucrative source of financial returns, so gives advice to go ahead and invest in stocks, it could spell either boon or bane for the students there. The teacher should have also mentioned the market risks associated with stock markets.

Thus the best way to teach is to praise positive actions and rectifying negative actions instead of avoiding, as that would lead to a more thorough understanding of the subject matter at hand.