People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

The above statement seems too extreme to hold good in the real world, where sometimes the fine line between logic and emotion is blurred. It is stated that people who tend to make decisions, based on emotion, and later justify their stand with logic are poor decision makers.

To fully understand the implications of this statement, let us look at an example. When a trial is going on in a court, the judge tends to make his decision based on the evidence presented before him. But sometimes, these details fail to portray the little nuances of a particular case, in which the judge must bring forth his intuition for a proper and just resolution of the issue. Hence here emotion didn't weaken the judge's logic, rather it strengthened it by allowing widening of his viewpoint, thereby helping him to serve a just verdict.

Another example can be given in this regard and it has been widely adopted worldwide. During maternity, women are given leave, as that time they need a break from their work. And many companies also allow an extended leave to working women in support of their well-being. One can call it an act based on emotion, but it has also logic to it. If the women attend office straight from labor, they will not be able to perform on par with the level they used to, and that is detrimental to a company. Thus reflecting upon the decision taken, one can say that it is indeed a logical decision.

Thus from the above examples, it is seen that emotion does not necessarily impair the process of logical decision making, rather if used wisely, it can strengthen it.