The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Teaching is part and parcel of life. It imparts crucial knowledge and life lessons to individuals and is the foundation of our society. There is no single rule in teaching, since it depends heavily on the individual, the environment and the teacher themselves. It is crucial for educators to reinforce any positive actions but also equally crucial for them to not overlook any negative ones. Hence, I disagree with the statement to a large extent as I believe both positive and negative actions need to be taken into account when educating an individual.

First and foremost, I do agree that praising positive actions is one of the best ways to teach. Praising positive actions help to provide reinforcements in an individual toward doing the right things. For example, a student who did well in a test should be praised by his/her teacher. Being recognized by the teacher provides a sense of achievement for the student and this leads to increased motivation for the student to continue and strive for better results. As humans, it is in our instinct to strive for praises. It makes us feel good about ourselves and help to build our confidence. However, focusing too much on praises may cause the individual to become arrogant. Hence, we should praise positive actions, but not excessively such that it results in a negative impact.

Furthermore, I do agree that in some instances, it is more appropriate to ignore the flaws or mistakes that the individual has made. For example, if a student made a minor mistake during a play or a performance which did not cause any disruptions, it should be overlooked and ignored. If we were to pry into that minor mistake after the performance, it may only ruin their confidence and reduce their self-worth. Children when young should be provided with more positive reinforcements and less on the criticism.

However, I believe that ignoring negative actions completely will definitely have detrimental effects to the individual. Overlooking any mistakes or flaws may cause the individual to become unaware of the mistakes they made. This is especially crucial when dealing with serious issues, from mindlessly simple examples such as scolding vulgarities to intricate instances such as breaking the law. For example, if a student got into a fight in school, they should be reprimanded and dealt with severely. Forgoing instances as such will only cause the student to have the mindset that “I am not in trouble, it means fighting is not wrong”. Since people normally correlate the things that they are being reprimanded for to be wrong, ignoring the mistakes will cause them to develop a wrong mindset.

In conclusion, I believe the best way to teach is to praise positive actions and at times, depending on the situation, ignore negative ones. Sometimes it is necessary to focus on the negative actions if its too severe to be overlooked. This way of teaching ensures that the student or child gets more positive reinforcements which will help them to build up their confidence, self-worth and allow them to grow up with high decorum.