Argument Topic: "The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The memo concludes that Super Screen Movie Production Company should allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reach the public through advertising to increase the number of people attending Super Screen-produced movies. The advertising director made this conclusion on the premise that fewer people attended their produced movies in the past year but the percentage of positive reviews about specific movies have increased during the past year. Hence, the problem lies with the lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. However, this conclusion is logically flawed since it is based on assumptions that are not wholly supported.

First and foremost, the advertising director assumes that the positive reviews by movie reviewers can be compared directly between specific Super Screen movies. However, this is not the case since different movies have different genre, filming director, characters and storyline, which may attract and appeal to different target audiences. It will be inaccurate to directly compare the reviews between different movies. Hence, to further support this statement, the advertising director should include the genre of the specific Super Screen movies he/she is referring to and identify his/her basis of comparison to conclude the percentage increase in positive reviews. This will bolster the accuracy of the comparison and makes the argument more logical.

Next, the advertising director failed to account that the increase in positive reviews may be insignificant and inaccurate. Assuming the reviews between movies are comparable, the percentage increase is not stated explicitly. It could be an increase from 10% to 20%, which is still considered poor performance and quality. That may be the reason why fewer people attended to the movies they produced. Furthermore, it was not stated how many reviewers actually reviewed the movies and the number may not provide an accurate representation of the general public. Thus, the advertising director should provide explicit figures on the percentage increase in positive reviews and some statistics to demonstrate that the reviews they received are representative towards the general public.

Lastly, the advertising director did not account for the current trends of movie genre in the target area. For instance, teenagers may prefer action-films as compared to documentaries and adults may prefer drama-films as compared to cartoons. Hence, instead of reaching to the public through blind advertising, the company should conduct an extensive survey to determine the preferences of their target audiences and shift their movie production to appeal to the majority. This may be a better use of the budget to properly address the issue and attract more people to attend their produced movies.

In conclusion, the argument will be more cogent if the advertising director provide evidences such as the genres and movies that he/she is comparing, the values of the statistics used, and the number of reviews received for each movie. Furthermore, instead of reaching the public through advertising, he/she could conduct a survey to determine the movie preferences and provide greater appeal to the majority. Without these evidences present, we should be wary about accepting the memo's conclusion.