A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Education bolsters the foundation of the society. Hence, it is crucial that each and every students garner the required knowledge to better themselves and the society. During this quest for knowledge, I agree to a large extent with the recommendation, stating that a nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college. This provides them a well-rounded development and exposure, but it should not be strictly enforced as it will impede the learning journey.

First and foremost, studying the same national curriculum ensures that students obtain a well-rounded development. This is especially important since students may not know exactly where their interests lie. Hence, its best to provide them with a wide range of exposures so as to allow them to identify what they are interested in and would like to pursue as a career. For example, a student who chose not to study math in high school because it is boring may decided to become an engineer when he enters college. However, because of the lack in math foundation, he may struggle to achieve his goal. Hence, providing a well-round foundation ensures that students can have sufficient expertise to strive to achieve their goal when they enter college.

Next, studying the same national curriculum when young helps to develop different forms of characteristics in the student. For example, taking math and physics classes helps to develop important skillsets such as analytical and problem-solving skills. Taking art and literature classes helps to develop other skillsets such as creativity and critical thinking. All of these skillsets are crucial in both school and workplace, no matter the fields. Hence, providing students with the same national curriculum ensures that they can have a well-rounded development in terms of knowledge and skillsets.

However, in some cases, some students may already have decided on what they would like to pursue as a career. This enforcement of taking the same national curriculum as the rest may hence impede their learning. For example, a secondary school student may have decided to become an engineer and would like pursue this interest wholeheartedly. However, enforcing him to study other curriculum, such as literature or art, may instead take away his time to participate in other more fruitful activities, such part-time internship to gain relevant experiences. Hence, in this case, it may not be advisable to strictly enforce students as such to study the same national curriculum as others.

In conclusion, strict enforcement in education will only impede the learning of students. The same national curriculum should be provided to all students because it builds a strong foundation to which students can expand upon it once they enter college. However, secondary schools and junior colleges should also have the options of slightly different courses in their education. For example, some junior colleges could have science and art streams, to cater to students of different interests. Within each stream, there will be courses from the other as well to ensure a well-rounded development. Thus, I believe a nation should require all of its students to study similar national curriculum but also have the choice in specialising at the end of high school.