Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Education paves the way for future success. There is a multitude of choices where students can decide which paths they would like to take. The chances of success in each of the choices heavily depends on the individual’s passion, attitude and luck. However, if educators can identify students that are unlikely to succeed in pursuing certain fields of study, they should not dissuade the students, but instead provide guidance and support during this endeavour.

First and foremost, students should have the freedom to select the field of study they would like to pursue. Some may find it enticing to be conducting experiments in the laboratory while others may find it liberating to create paintings using brushes and palettes. The future is like an enigma and no one can know for sure if an individual will succeed even if things may appear grim. Some individual may be late bloomers and will only develop the talent in the field after a few years later. Inhibiting or dissuading the students may result in them losing the confidence and passion in the field. Hence, providing students the freedom to pursue fields of study promotes their growth and development which results in better chances of succeeding.

Furthermore, a major factor in success is the attitude of the student as opposed to the particular field of study. To obtain success in any fields requires a certain amount of discipline, dedication and determination. Therefore, it is more important to impart these valuable traits in students no matter which field they decide to pursue. For instance, an individual may be pursuing a field in arts and realised that he is unable to succeed due to the lack of opportunities. However, with the invaluable traits entrenched within, he can excel in any other fields that may still link back to arts, such as engineering design or architecture. Thus, the character traits of an individual are more important in success as compared to the field of choice.

Admittedly, some might argue that students may not know what lies ahead in the particular field and should be dissuaded before they make a decision they may regret in the future. For instance, students who went into these fields and failed to succeed may spend their life full of regrets for not choosing the right part that would have led them to success. This will lead them to discourage people around them from making the same ‘mistake’ that they made. Nevertheless, instead of dissuading, educators should provide guidance to students who are in the midst of making a decision. This provides them with a better understanding of the uncertainty that lies ahead in their field and allows them to make an informed decision.

Conclusively, educational institution should encourage students to pursue the field of study they are passionate in, no matter the chances of succeeding. Educators should provide students with the full picture of different fields available and when dealing with a tougher field. They should not dissuade students but ensure that these students understand the arduous path that lies ahead. In this case, students are more likely to succeed no matter the field they decide to pursue.