The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

“Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures.”

The article written by Dr. Karp concluded that the children in Tertia were reared by their own biological parents. This conclusion was made on the premise that, through the interview-centered method, it was shown that the children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. However, the conclusion that was made is logically unsound since it is built on the premise of assumptions that are not wholly supported.

First and foremost, Dr. Karp failed to account for the fact that children raised twenty years ago may not necessarily be raised in the same conditions as compared to today. In fact, there could be a possibility whereby children were raised by an entire village twenty years ago and due to some changes in their lifestyle, children now are raised by their own biological parents. If that were the case, Dr. Karp’s statement whereby he dismissed Dr. Field’s conclusion and methodology will itself be false. Dr. Karp will need to provide evidences to show that the lifestyle of Tertia remained the same twenty years ago in order to strengthen his argument that Dr. Field’s conclusion and methodology is false. This evidence could be through research on other studies conducted during this time period on Tertia which demonstrates a shift or stagnation in the lifestyle. Otherwise, Dr. Karp could also try to recreate the research conducted by Dr. Field using the observation-method to make a conclusion about the lifestyle of town Tertia after twenty years.

Next, Dr. Karp assumed that just because he got a different conclusion, his interview-centered approach is reliable. He disproved the observation-centered approach because a different conclusion was obtained. However, the reason could be that his methodology was the faulty one instead. For instance, observation-centered approach could be more reliable, since the lifestyles and culture of the town is being observed and recorded. It is very visual and may be less disruptive to the lives of the people in Tertia town. On the other hand, the interview-centered approach may not necessarily be reliable, since there could be language barriers between the children and the interviewers. Nevertheless, we had no idea how both the observation and interview-centered approach was conducted and thus will not know which method is more reliable. Dr. Karp will need to provide the methodology they have used and some past studies or research that were conducted using similar methodology to disprove the observation-centered approach and validate the interview-centered approach.

Lastly, Dr. Karp assumed a direct correlation between children in Tertia talking about their biological parents and being raised by them. However, this was not supported by any evidence or facts. The children in Tertia could very well raised by the entire village but talked about their biological parents because they miss them due to the lack of affection. If that were the case, it may also disprove the interview-centered approach as being unreliable. Hence, more information on the interview with regards to the how it was conducted, the language used, the questions asked, and the answers provided are required to effectively evaluate the correlations and strengthen the argument.

In conclusion, the article written by Dr. Karp would be more convincing and cogent if more information with regards to the observation and interview-centered approaches used were provided, such as being supported by other studies using similar methodologies. In addition, Dr. Karp should also repeat the experiment conducted by Dr. Field to eliminate any doubts in his findings. With such further details and evidences, Dr. Karp will be able to support all of the generalizations the article put forth and strengthen his argument. In the absence of these evidences, we should be wary about accepting the truth of the argument’s conclusion.