The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station. 'Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs.

The memorandum concludes that the television station should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level so as to attract more viewers and avoid losing any further advertising revenues. This was concluded on the premise that since the late-night news program devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news, most of the complaints received were concerned with the coverage of weather and local news and local businesses cancelled their advertising contract with the station. However, this conclusion is logically unsound as it is based on assumptions that are not wholly supported.

First and foremost, the argument assumes that the complaints that are mostly about weather and local news coverage is due to the reduction in time devoted. However, no evidences such as the exact complains or figures were provided to bolster the argument. The complaints even before this time period could already be with regards to the coverage of weather and local news and hence did not show any significant changes after reduction in time devoted. Thus, more evidences should be provided, such as conducting a survey to ask for viewers preferences and to provide the exact complains that was received. Furthermore, the manager should also compare the amount of complains before and after the time reduction and should provide figures on the increase in complaints with regards to the weather and local news.

Next, the argument assumes a correlation between the reduction in weather and local news coverage to local businesses stopping their advertisements in the news. However, no evidences were providing to support this correlation. It was stated that the local business "just" cancelled their advertising contracts with the news station, which reduced the weather and local news coverage for one year. No evidences were also provided to indicate how many businesses advertises with the company and how many decided to cancel their contracts. This lack of evidences and large mis-match in timing may indicate that there are other factors in play. For example, some local businesses may feel that everyone knows about their products after a long period of advertisements and decides that there is no further need for advertising. Hence, the manager should provide more statistics on the advertising contracts to support the assumption made.

Furthermore, the argument fails to consider that their reduction in time may not necessarily reduce viewers and increasing the coverage may not necessarily attract more viewers to the program. As mentioned previously, the complaints with regards to the weather and local news could have always been the same level even before the changes. Furthermore, people who do not follow the news previously will also likely not be following it now. Thus, in order to ensure that the company can attract more viewers to the program, manager need to conduct surveys to understand the needs of the people who are currently not viewing the news and this will allow the television station to attract more viewers.

In conclusion, the argument made by the business manager can be bolstered, if evidences such as a survey conducted for both viewers and non-viewers regarding the complains and what they would prefer to see in the coverages and statistics on the local businesses that advertises with the television station to support the correlation. Without these evidences present, we should be wary about accepting the memorandum's conclusion.