All college and university students would benefit from spending at least one semester studying in a foreign country.

There is never a one-size-fits-all educational curriculum that would benefit all students since each and every individual learns differently and has different goals in mind. Therefore, the argument takes an extreme stance and it would be more applicable to say that a majority of students will benefit from spending at least one semester studying abroad.

First and foremost, taking a semester to study abroad help to expand the student’s horizon and develop certain invaluable traits and skillsets. Studying abroad will expose students to different teaching styles and international students from diverse backgrounds. For example, an Asian student who participates in a exchange program in the United States will need to adjust his communication skills, gestures and attitude accordingly. Through this exposure, it helps to develop important character traits such as tolerance and accapetance to diversity and ambiguity, communication skills and adaptability. It was also shown in a study that about 60% of employers value international student experience because of the growth and development that the students receive through the exchange program. Hence, this is definitely an advantage as students can benefit through personal development and having better career options once they graduate.

Furthermore, participating in a semester exchange program benefit students through exposure to different teaching styles and different level of advancements in the curriculum. For instance, the education system in India is more triate as compared to United States. In India, students are more focused on questions-and-answers-based evaluation system, whereas in United States, research is of greater importance. There may also be a different degree of advancements in certain aspects. For example, universities in United States may be teaching the most updated programs in some areas as compared to universities in India. In that case, students who goes to US for an exchange program will get the opportunity to be exposed to a different education system and advanced programs that are not available in their home country. This experience not only benefits the students, but can also be used to provide feedbacks to the home universities to improve upon their current curriculum.

In contrast to the statement, there will be instances whereby students do not actually benefit from the semester exchange program. This is especially the case for students who may not have the necessary resources to partake in the program. For instance, the student may be pursuing double-major or undertaking part-time internships. Hence, the student will not have the time to participate in the exchange program since there are other priorities at hand. As a result, enforcing the student to undergo the exchange program will result in detrimental effects, such as delaying his/her graduation.

Nevertheless, a global exposure benefits the students in a multitude of ways. However, nothing should ever be enforced upon the students in our education system. Imposing such restrictions will only impede the student’s learning abilities. It should be made clear to students the importance and potential benefits that the exchange program will provide. Only then, they will be able to make the final decision once they have the full picture of what lies ahead.