Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

This topic raises the controversial issue of giving the educational institutes the responsibility of dissuading students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed. Indisputably, the education institute can thoroughly analyze a student's strengths and weaknesses and predict career paths where the student is likely to be comfortable and prosper. Nevertheless, this does not validate the converse conclusion where the institutes dissuade the students from pursuing fields which seem less likely a career path for them. Thus, I generally disagree with the opinion that educational institutions have any responsibility of dissuading students from pursuing fields, and would argue that students should be free to choose their future fields of study.

First of all, students continuously take decisions regarding their future fields of study throughout the tenure of education. I would like to point out that if the educational institute dissuades students at each of these junctures, the students will not develop the attitude of independent thinking and decision making. This is a critical skill required in the later stages of the students' lives. By providing a constant support system for the students' decision mechanism, the students may eventually find themselves completely dependent on the institutes for any sort of decision.

Furthermore, there are no predefined set of parameters that can predict the future talent or performance of an individual. Due to the immense diversity amongst students with varying aspirations and goals, it is impossible to devise a single generic method of prediction for everyone. The students that seem ill-suited for a particular study may end up doing very well and succeeding. For example, many students tend to choose higher education majors in their undergraduate studies based on their interests. However, their past performances may not necessarily bolster their aspirations. Regardless of which the student may still succeed in and after the undergraduate studies.

Admittedly, the educational institutions can definitely classify students based on their aptitudes for different fields. It is true when it comes to pursuing sports fields where the physiques need to be of a specific type. In such cases, students endowed with the ideal physiques are more likely to succeed in contrast with students with genetically non-ideal physiques. In such cases, the educational institutes should provide a feedback to students letting them know the requirements and prerequisite strengths in the student to facilitate a better decision.

In conclusion, the educational institutes should not dissuade students from pursuing fields of studies in which they are unlikely to succeed. However, the institutes should provide comprehensive information and provide counselling services to aid students in making an independent decision. This will help the students gain clarity about the viability of the fields of study under consideration and help make a wiser decision. As long as the opinion of the education body does not overshadow the opinion of students, the students can benefit from the invaluable feedback provided by the institutes. In fact, most institutes today do have special career counsellors which help students assess their strengths and shortcomings and provide them with better tools to make a more informed decision.