the best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones

Teaching is not simple a profession to earn money. It is addendum with responsibility to shape the student to become a versatile person. Above statement claims that “the best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones”. I completely disagree with the approach. Though it seems to encourage students at first, surely will not provide expected results at the end.

Let's consider the situation where we praise the students on the positive actions and ignore the negative ones. This is probably build over confidence in the student, as they start feeling that whatever action they perform will be correct. This will make the student stubborn and they will not be ready to hear any negative comments from anyone in the society. As we are not raising any voice on negative actions, even those will be considered as the positive ones and will be repeated further. In this way we are actually allowing them to commit negative actions.

Also, with this attitude they can never correct the mistakes they performed and can never learn any new thing. Society is a vast place where people are judged on the actions they perform. If we don't make students aware of the negative actions it will be difficult for them to sustain in such society. They can't handle any negative words against them.

At last following such approach will make the students stubborn and reluctant to hear negative comments. Instead, praising positive actions and making them to realize on the negative actions will actual help the students to learn many things like, acceptance, differentiation between positive and negative actions, good and bad deeds, being stable at all conditions etc. This will help the student to develop their mental and physical strengths and abilities which in turn helps in developing a better society.