The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Teaching has always been one of the most crucial tasks to ensure that future generations will learn correctly from the past and will be able to establish better societies. In order to achieve this however, it is essential that teachers and educators are required to praise positive actions and most importantly underline and correct the negative ones.

Correcting negative actions is of fundamental importance and it does not only relate to teaching. During our lives, it must have happened multiple times to have been corrected or even punished for having done something wrong. Whether it was our parents yelling at us for having made a mess in the house, or whether it was the disapproving of our boss after having failed a task, underlining and correcting wrong actions is crucial to let an individual improve. If our parents or bosses had not punished or corrected us, we would have never had the chance to realize and fix what was needed to be fixed.

On the other hand, it is true that there exist a variety of cases in which it is better to ignore negative actions and just focus on the positive ones. Especially regarding education, adults need to be very careful when dealing with children and teenagers’ emotions. Every person is different from one another and has its personal way of copying with everyday challenges he has to face. Some kids might need a teacher who believes in them and pushes their limits through underlining the good actions and, eventually, giving less importance to the negative ones. Teaching could be seen as a deal the teacher makes with the student, and based on this perspective the former needs to find the best way to achieve his teaching goals while letting the students understand what is positive and what is negative.

In conclusion, I would say that praising positive actions represents surely an important side of teaching and boosting students’ motivation to improve. However, correcting the negative ones is essential to make sure that teachers and educators are accomplishing their most important goal: educate new generations in becoming better by learning from past mistakes.