Laws should be flexible enough to take account of various circumstances, times, and places.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Whether laws should be flexible or not has always been a delicate topic to discuss. People usually underrate the complexity of the implications that an opinion on this statement could lead to, and express their ideas mostly based on their life experiences. For example, people whom friends or family members had troubles with the law would be seeking for more flexible ones, whether those who never had any will tend to state that current laws are perfect as they currently are. Based on the consequences that more flexible laws could have on our society and our justice system, I think that laws should not take into account the variety of circumstances, times, and places.

For instance, let’s focus on what variety of circumstances, times and places could represent. If laws were to be more flexible in order to consider all these differences, then a new systematic way to judge and categorize the latter would be necessary. The world is so big and varied that each of us could end up breaking the same law but in a different context, different times or places, and adopting flexibility would require the judge system to consider each one of them, categorize them in a systematic way, and then choose the right measure to take. It is clear that the first consequence of adopting this flexibility would be a much more chaotic judge system, making it harder to maintain its everyday duty of equality.

However, considering how many inhabitants live on our planet, it is a certainty that more flexible laws would have helped many people who have been wrongly accused or judged. Contexts and circumstances could really change the judge and jury’s point of view on the case, leading them to a less harsh measure taken. For instance, let’s suppose that a man crossed an intersection with red lights on while speeding with his car. At first, it is more than justified to say that the man was in the wrong and has to pay for the laws he has broken and for the danger he could have caused. If we get to know more the context though, and discover that the man was rushing towards his mother's house because her mother was in severe danger, then this more sensible point of view could probably reduce the consequences of his acts.

It is also needed to take into consideration that mankind is fundamentally selfish. If it’s true that more flexible laws could help so many people, it is also true that a lot more would take advantage of this, seeking an exploit to reduce the possible consequences of their acts. Taken this into consideration, it is obvious that the judge system would have to face much more complex and delicate cases in order to acknowledge all the possible circumstances, and then take measures maintaining equality.

For the implications a new and more flexible laws would have on our current law system, I think that various times, places and circumstances should not be taken into consideration when judging a case in court. It is true that it could come in handy for a lot of people, but the negative side of the implications it could lead to, unfortunately, overcome the positive ones.