Best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the

voramendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape tour position.

A balanced approach is required to teach and to learn. A certain degree of negative action has to be tolerated; above which there has to be a repercussion for the action. A good analogy for this would be school or college exams. A good performance would get a good grade analogous to praise; a moderate performance would get a moderate grade analogous to ignorance; a bad performance would give the student a failure grade analogous to punishment. Here a certain amount of negative performance is tolerated, below which the student is punished.

Applying policies such as praising positive actions and ignoring negative actions in schools would lead to ridiculous situations. According to it, misbehaviour and tantrums of unruly students are not supposed to be punished and have to be ignored; only the good behaviour of obedient children have to be praised. This would make the children think they could behave in an undesirable manner and not have any consequences to it. The obedient students would feel that the incentives for good behaviour are less.

Dogs have been trained to learn tricks based on reinforcement learning techniques. Studies based on them have shown that praising i.e. positive reinforcement is more effective than punishing negative behaviour, i.e. is negative reinforcement, individually. But the total lack of negative reinforcement would not help the learner understand their mistakes. The mistake done would be soon forgotten; there is a chance of its recurrence. If negative actions are tolerated, this would build false confidence that they could get away with anything without consequences. Hence only an unacceptable amount of bad behaviour would have to be punished after ignoring minor ones.