Luck plays more of a role in determining success than work ethic does.

The relationship between luck, work ethics and success are not as simplistic as they seem. Depending on the interpretation success, luck and work ethics play varying role. Success may be interpreted in two ways. Firstly, if one meets his goals and flawlessly completes the given task, he can be deemed really successful. Secondly, if his exploits are recognised and validated by other people, he can be called popularly successful. Purely work ethics pave the way for one to be really successful . But to be recognised and acknowledged, and then deemed popularly successful, he will need a little bit of luck.

There are many instances in history, where scientists made great discoveries and inventions. It is obvious that everyone had great discipline in the pursual of their goal. They must have displayed enormous amount of work ethics because of the the precise nature of science. But not everyone was equally acknowledged for their contributions. Many died in obscurity without fame. For these men probably luck was not in their fate. Hence they were not deemed popularly successful, but even though they were 'really' successfull at achieving their goal.

Popular success is the second kind of success. It requires acknowledgement and appreciation by the fellow men and women for the work done. Apart from work ethics, certain amount of luck is necessary for this kind of success. An office may have many hard working employees. Inspite of many being equally good, depending on the persuasion of his or her manager for the award, he may or may not get the best employee award. In this situation one is deemed successful while another equally good guy is ignored.

A unfortunate circumstance may occur where credit goes to the wrong person. Due to pure luck a person may be deemed successful. This is an instance of popluar success, where work ethics does not matter.

Success is a difficult term to fit it into a certain framework of meaning. Success at a deeper level is achieving one's goal. Work ethics is the only thing matters to achieve this. But for popular success which comes from recognition of one achieving one's goal, requires a certain amount of luck. Popular success is superficial and short lived. Luck is needed to maintain it. But real success thrives only on work ethic.