The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of video rental stores.

"In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore's ten video rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month our store in downtown Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 P.M. rather than 9:00 P.M. and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years ago. Therefore, in order to increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering great movies at low prices, we recommend implementing similar changes in our other nine Movies Galore stores."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The conclusion drawn from change in the store offering and closing time seems to have serious flaws. It is assumed that reduction in operational cost will lead to increase in profits. The Marston store just reduced its operational costs by undertaking the above steps; there is not mention of corresponding increase in profits. Without considering other factors affecting the sales in the store, if stock is reduced and closing time is preponed, there is no surety that Movies Galore will enter into the profitability regime. Rather this could lead to unintended consequences leading to severe losses.

The ten stores of Movies Galore must be located in different neighbourhoods. Each neighbourhood will have different kind of inhabitants. It is not necessary that behaviour of all of them will be similar. Some neighbourhood may have older people with a taste for old classic movies; some neighbourhoods may have a younger crowd with a different taste. Assuming homogeneity will not have the expected result. Even though the operational costs will reduce by removing older movies, some stores may see a massive dip in sales due to a different preference of the people renting from it.

Working class usually are back from their daily work in the evenings. Since majority of the people work, they would have time to go out, shop, eat and rent and watch movies only in the evenings. The evening time after the work ends are the rush hours when there is a spike in sales usually for entertainment businesses. In search of reducing operational costs, closing the stores early at 6 pm when customers are likely to arrive may cause a huge dip in sales.

Generalising the behaviour of people around different stores is not a good idea. If the aim is to increase profits, Movies Galore may adopt different stategies in different neighbourhoods. Differential pricing, where affluent neighbourhoods are charged more compared to the less affluent ones may not affect the regular sales drastically. But there may be a increase in profits.