The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The basic qualities of life are inculcated through teaching. Right from the start of life, an individual grows up gradually and moulds into an unique personality on the basis of the teaching that he has received from parents, teachers and relatives. In this context, I, supported by two main points, strongly agree with the notion that the best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones. This short communication shall try to critically analyze this issue through an unbiased judgement and present an accaptable result to support this anecdote.

It is often said that a person learns the most from his mistakes. However, it is also often through the most harsh rebukes to his negative actions that he loses confidence for the rest of his life. Let us take the example of a child who is academically quite strong but mischevious to a certain extent at school. Often times we see such children getting reprimanded, punished and ridiculed in front of their classmates. Although seemingly necessary to maintain the decorum of an institution, scoldings as these, do more bad than good. It is important to realize that kids, as they grow up, tend to develop a certain degree of mental stability. They are no longer a threat to the peace and silence of the society. But, the ridicule and admonishment stays imbibed in their subconscious mind for a long period of time-whcih they might find hard to cope up with. Hence, instead of crticizing the negative qualities, the teachers can counsel their students and ignore the wrong deeds done.

A word of praise is absorbed by the mind for a hundred years. It is through acknowledgement and encouragement that great ideas evolve. When an individual undergoes through a learning phase in his life, he is deemed to fail a hundred times. However, the crux of an effective learning process lies in the fact that his small positive actions get acknowledged and praised. It provides a huge incentive for future work. Let us take the example of a child who aspires to become a sceintist-fancies the works of science and is inclined to understand the nuances of this field. Instead of playing with his toys, he is interested in spending hours opening up parts of them and studying the underlying mechanism of the machines. Often times when a parent notices this, he is likely to castigate his child for destroying the toys. Instead, it is necessary to understand where the insterest of this child lies and appreciate him. If at a young age he has managed to develop such an intriguing curiosity, does he not deserve to be praised? The answer is a big yes! We need to remember that successful people had all started their journey through little praiseworthy comments.

Proponents against this theory would argue that ignoring negative actions might encourage someone to carry on with their wrong deeds for a greater period of time. But, is that not how people self learn? Instead of harshly criticizing their negative actions, it is important to counsel them gently and leave them on their own to understand. Hence, in conclusion it is important to understand that learning is an intrinsically complicated process and there are barely any generalization available. Thus, acting on the basis of the givewn situation is desired.