A person should never make an important decision alone.

There is no denial to the fact that different people would have different opinions when faced with unprecedented situations, having to take an important and decisive decision. Well, according to me, I would always consider consulting some of my close and reliable well-wishers before coming to a definite conclusion. I shall corroborate my stance through a few well reasoned examples in the following paragraphs.

First, a decision taken after taking into account a variety of opinions usually help in mitigating risks of an emotional bias. Often times, we fail to keep our emotions aside and take cold blooded decisions, which affect the final outcomes. However, when we take into account the ideas of others, most of which are not guided by their emotions, it is easier to arrive at more logical and optimal solutions. I remember being able to defer my doctoral admissions and saving myself from the clutches of an exorbitant student loan after taking advice of my father. A spot in a PhD program had long been my dream. When denied a full scholarship, I was reluctant to waste a year and was about to opt for a huge student loan. It was at this point that my father advised to defer my admission and approach the problem in more realistic terms, thus saving me from a huge burden for the next four years.

Second, while single-handedly taking a decision, we often miss out on important nuances, leading to erroneous analysis of situations. There is always a risk of running into miscalculated risks, thus ending in deep waters. A joint decision, that tales into consideration an array of views, seldom has the same risk. While deciding on my diet plans before my university championship, I was lucky enough to get consultations from a dedicated team of dietitians, coaches and mentors. It was at this stage that I learned how I was on the verge of taking an erroneous decision of adopting for muscle cutting, instead of maintaining a calorie surplus that was necessary for me at that point.

Thus, as can be deciphered from the reasons above, an important decision must always be bolstered by concrete ideas taken from a varied number of individuals.