The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

None has been carved out perfectly. Being a melange of righteousness and wrongdoings, it is the upbringing of a human being which remains the ultimate parameter for shaping his personality. Thus, in the process of growing up, besides praising positive actions, negative actions should also be highlighted to render a holistic and wholesome teaching.

A teacher should always be, as William Wordsworth writes in Ode to Duty, “A rod, a guide to the erring.” It is the duty of any teacher to provide a wholesome education, uplifting each faculty of human consciousness. Praising positive actions no doubt provides a person the necessary push and encouragement to do a better work. If however, a person is always admired and praised for his positive deeds only, chances develop he might foster over-confidence in himself, and will develop a lack of insight into consequences of wrongdoings and facing failures. Our first step of learning begins with our mother, who fosters confidence in a child and encourages it to take risks and grow. While guiding a child, pointing the child its wrongdoings thus becomes important for a mother to ascertain fruitful and healthy growth. Hence, to inculcate the completeness of any teaching, a person should be trained to accept both positive and negative aspects of his work with equal priority.

To teach is not to educate a person academically. Teaching calls for over all development of a person as a human being, physically, spiritually, morally, socially and emotionally. Praising a person and ignoring his faults will only result in an incomplete growth. An uncouth but academically brilliant child will not be perceived well by peers. An impolite but sophisticated boss will not be respected by his employees, nor an unfriendly rich businessman by the society. Thus, in spite of harbouring positive aspects, negative actions should also be highlighted to impart the best life lessons. A complete teaching, as imparted by our ancestors through religions, sacred scriptures, calls for giving importance to morality, abstention from sins, having a clear judgement and a sense of duty and self-realization – placing importance to realize and rectify negative actions for the betterment of self.

Ignoring negative actions may also prove to be fatal. If remain unchecked, they cumulate. No matter how academically sound a student is, if his resorting to unfair means remain unchecked, he can never grow into a truthful person later in life. Thus, to impart a holistic teaching, negativities must be highlighted, and solutions, provided. A person at fault should be made aware of his shortcomings. Constructive criticisms and alternate solutions should be provided for him to do a better work. As failure is the stepping stone of success, drawing attention to such shortcomings will not only provide him an added motivation, but also will teach him how to handle disappointments in life.

The best way to impart teachings is thus by giving negative actions the same priority as the positive ones.