Nowadays more people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

Whether we like it or not the world we live in has changed a great deal; which affects our lives in many aspects. In this regard, these days the major of people prefer working for themselves rather than to have a corporate job. In this essay, I discuss both reasons and demerits of self-employment before concluding.

First of all, one of the main reasons why someone chooses to work for themselves is more free time and a pliable schedule. Thanks to the internet and technological revolution nowadays individuals can carry out their job regardless of time and place. Take freelancing as an example; which provides a circumstance to do your job any time and everywhere. In addition, there is more space for you to adjust your schedule based on your capabilities. For example, if your productivity is higher in the evening in comparison with the early morning you can do your job at that time. To put it another way, you can do your work relying on your qualifications and requisites. Second of all, according to the high competition; which exists amidst staff in the multitude of companies and firms, there is no necessity to be concern about losing your job.

On the other side of the coin, even though self-employment has very merits, there are some drawbacks related to it. One of the main problems is the high workload. In many cases when you work for yourself, you have to carry out more works and being charge of different parts of the job. For example, you should work as a manager and employee as well; not only your energy but also your time is taken. Another problem is that while most companies consider insurance for their employees and a fixed monthly salary, there is no salary guarantee for people who works for themselves.

In conclusion, although there are some demerits attributed to self-employment, in my opinion, its advantages are much more prominent and people reasons to be self-employed are too high extent sensible.