Some people believe that it is best to accept a bad situation such as an unsatisfactory job or shortage of money. Others argue that it is better to try and improve such situations. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

The statement puts forward two school of thought, first which states that one should accept the failure and consider it as fate whereas the second argues one should try no matter the outcome of the situation. This issue is contentious one and can be resolved by scrutiny of facts. My opinions are described below.

For the first case, where one considers an unfavourable situation as fate and accepts it might do so based on his consequences. For instance, a boy aims for high marks in exam but fails to score the desired marks due to his health problems during his exam, might have to accept the score and move on with his life. In this case, falling ill during the exam was not his in his hand and he cannot do much about it. So, in this instance he should accept his score.

On the other hand, for the second school of thought considering the same example. But this time the boy is unwilling to study and scores less marks, this can’t be fate. This is his own negligence and has landed him in this situation. The boy should work hard towards the next exam to score higher marks and improve his situation.

To sum it up, one should not waste time and energy on things which is not in one’s control like falling ill in the above example. On the other hand, determination and hard work depends on the person. Every unsatisfactory situation can be improved with hard work and determination. I believe in the saying: “Hard work is the key to success”.