Recently Bagel Mania replaced sugar with saccharin, a sugar substitute, throughout its bakeries in the Northeast areas of the USA. Contrary to initial expectations, this change did not have a adverse impact on our customer's preferences. So far, only 10 percent of our customers have grumbled about this change suggesting that an average of 90 customers out 100 have no issues with the use of saccharin in our baked products. Since our customers have not voiced great concern about the use of saccharin instead of sugar, it is evident that we should implement this change in all the branches of Bagel Mania bakeries in rest of the country.

The manager of Bagel Mania Bakery states the replcement of sugar with saccharin should be implemented in all the branches as 90 out of 100 have no issues with this replacement. I think the manager has overlooked many other factors and haven't provided necessary reasons in making the decison. The statement needs to be scrutinized to get a proper result.

First, the reason for the shift from sugar to saccharin is not delineated. Was the change made for cost cutting point of view or was it undertaken keeping health benefits as priority or some other reason. Had the author provided the reason for the replacemnet of sugar, one could have scrutinized thoroughly.

Second, the manager states that only 10 percent have complained about the change and the rest 90 out of 100 haveno issues. The number of people that were surveyed are quite small. In a country like USA,making assumptions on account of 100 people is not quite convincing. The manager need to take a survey of atleast 1000 customers to get the actual feedback. Also, it is quite possible that the people who didn't opposed the change are shy to provide their actual opinion and just given the opinion for the sake of giving it.

Third, the decision to implement this change in all of the branches is also based on wea assumption. The manager has overlooked the factors such as the weather of different regions, food preference of diffrent people, etc. The manger assumes that people living in rest of the country will have same opinion that of people living in Northeastern areas.

So to end with, the mannager's decion is based on many weak assumptions and he has made a hasty decision. By overlooking many factors and making the decision based on few 100 people is not convincing for the replacement of sugar with saccharin. The manager needs to provide more statistical data needs to take into consideration different aspects while making such decision.