Competition for high grades seriously limits the quality of learning at all levels of education.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The proponent claims that in face of competing for higher grades, the quality of education is degrading. This statement is like a two-sided coin which has different outlook. As we all know in any field, sports, art, business, etc competition is the prominent factor that bolsters the quality of that field. But this same competition can have serious consequences on one’s health who is thriving for excellence. My views are presented in the following paragraphs.

To start with, in the education system, a student is assessed on the basis of his grades. Unfortunately, grades are the factor on which the success of the student is defined. In such a scenario, students are faced with the challenge to score high grades. This gives rise to the competition among students to compete for higher grades. A student who aims to enter a prestigious university will definitely prove his calibre by scoring higher grades.

The next reason is the lack of motivation which can be nullified by the competition. As today’s world is a fast-paced place, student tends to get bored by the education and looses all interest. Competition for grades can motivate them to learn and take interest in the education. As one receives praise and this felling instils in them a sense of confidence, children are ought to compete for higher grades.

On the contrary, competition is not always benign. It leads to mental stress and gives rise to anxiety. The constant fear of scoring higher marks pressurises the children which is detrimental in such a young age. Also, it might lead them to undertake unfair practices which will seriously damage their integrity. So, competition should be healthy and should not affect someone’s mental health.

In the attempt to score higher grades, children are inclined to learn the facts without even understanding them. This seriously degrades the quality of education. Simple learning facts and vomiting them on the paper will only help to get higher grades but will not help in understanding. This will possess a bigger problem in future while performing the actual job. For instance, a student has learned the fact that engine needs air to work but didn’t understand the reason behind it. He will face a huge problem while working on engine later on as he is unaware of the principles on which it’s working is based. In this way the quality of education is deteorating.

To sum it up, though competition leads to significant improvements in any field, it should be healthy. A healthy competition is the one which leads to improvement without putting stress on the people who are making improvements. Simply learning facts may lead to achieve higher grades but will not provide any useful results.