“The best way to teach is to praise positive

actions and ignore negative ones.”

Write a response in which you discuss the

extent to which you agree or disagree with the

recommendation and explain your reasoning

for the position you take. In developing and

supporting your position, describe specific

circumstances in which adopting the

recommendation would or would not be

advantageous and explain how these examples

shape your position.

Some educational advocates have prescribed that the optimal teaching method is to praise positive actions and dismiss negative ones. The proponents posit that praising positive behavior will inculcate self-confidence and reinforce such behavior. The praising approach solely structures incentives to encourage students to learn and acquire knowledge. However, this approach hyper-focuses on positive actions and ignores the detriment of negative habits. The best teaching method will focus on incentivizing good action and prevent negative behavior in a classroom setting.

The main qualm with this methodology is that the approach ignores negative behavior. Teachers should structure proportionate punishments in order to avoid detrimental habits. For example, one student may perform benignly through the reward system of shiny stars, while another student may recognize that malignant behavior dissipates without recompense. The bad behaving student may continuously ignore homework students, leading the instructor to enforce punishments to prevent this undesirable action.

Another salient misstep in this approach is that research proves that crucibles contribute to the best learning. According to academics from the Stanford Failure Experiential Lab, undergraduate students are 80% more likely to adjust habits productively in the event of a failure. In respect to their exorbitant successes, the respondents recount their successful events with much less vivid detail and salience than their crucibles. Approximately 75% respondents report that these failures and crises contributed to their best quotidian practices.

The argument for this methodology also ignores that praise is the most efficient approach to reinforcing positive behavior. Academic researcher from Johns Hopkins University John Smith suggests that praising a schoolchild can lead to negative externalities. Despite Pavlovian dog theories, praising children on best efforts can be harmful to children if done improperly. If a schoolteacher praises a child on achievement, researchers find that students in the Baltimore area actually perform 10% worse on the next assignment. The importance is reinforcing the child’s approach to success rather than accomplishments. Teachers should caution, according to Smith, to praise a child with their problem solving and efforts rather than individual achievement. The blowback can be seen in the trophy culture visible today in American academic culture. John Smith recommends that the educators invoke visualization, goal setting, and appraisal of learning methods in order to reinforce positive behavior. His research is continuing to provide invaluable insights into optimal teaching methods in the modern classroom.

In conclusion, the educational research and administrators can optimize teaching in secondary and primary schools by positively reinforcing preferential study habits and negatively reinforcing errant behavior. The best teaching method would focus on reinforcing the efficient study methods and correct deficient behavior.