People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Homo sapiens are intrinsically emotional creatures that have garnered higher intelligence to make better decisions. The conflict between the left sided brain and the right sided brain represent a power struggle between the decision maker. According to research by Noble Prize Winner in Economics Daniel Kahneman, the brain makes decisions on the short term sometimes over the long term rational thinking. Decisions based on emotion is easier and faster than the strategic decision. Therefore, individuals often justify their passion driven choices with a logical, retrospective justification ex post facto. The optimal decision makers will aggregate the advantages of emotional processes and logical reasoning to become better decision makers.

A timid stockholder may tergiversate over divesting his/her holdings prior to an economic shock. According to research from the University of Chicago, erudite scholars extrapolated that the amygdala activates in fear when news sources portend price changes and instability in the markets. On average, approximately 60% of American investors will vacillate between selling their portfolio into liquid assets despite short term capital taxation or other divestment penalties. When considering these economic costs on the whole and the history of market performance, it would behoove this majority to be stolid among this uncertainty. Moreover, Warren Buffet posits that investing is often 80% emotion over 20% logic. Nevertheless, most investors are swayed by this emotional stress and adjust their portfolio based on this uncertainty. After the fact, individuals will often justify through the logical framework that they would have lost more money if they had not acted so brusquely.

A gambler in Las Vegas drowned in spirits, flashing lights, and beautiful women will often place overconfident bets at the expense of disproportionate losses. Casinos often heighten factors that would inhibit calculated gambling and increase physiological responses that would elicit riskier gambling. For example, the casino will facilitate free alcohol, scandalously clad women, and a vibrant ambiance to attract the unsuspecting victims. The customers will then make irrational decisions like betting all on red despite insurmountable odds and high potential losses. They will often justify their decisions made in the moment by quoting "When in Vegas" . Some individuals will even express buyer's remorse over their losses but will rationalize these prior decisions under the guise of entertainment.

Another example of a person making a decision under emotion is an individual making financial decisions after a death of a family member. Often, individuals will cope with grief by spending superfluous amounts of money on shopping. Other times the individual will sell their house or make career choices when under the influence of depression. According to research from the Behavioral Science Lab at Duke, individuals will make riskier decisions 20% more likely when depressed. After the fact, these individuals will justify their actions logically by attributing the phenomenon to other factors. Suddenly, that individual did need clothes, the housing market was tumultuous, or that career transition was a longstanding consideration. However, these decisions under grief represent similar emotional decisions made under uncertainty or lower inhibition. The grievers would benefit from avoiding these magnanimous decisions during this turbid process.

In conclusion, it is difficult to avoid emotional influence during the decision process. Oftentimes, humans justify these decisions with a logical framework for self-serving bias. Kahneman quoted himself despite over 30 years of research in prospect theory that he himself fails to account for emotional factors despite holding these considerations close. Optimal decision makers will utilize this knowledge to improve when possible.