The best way to teach — whether as an educator, employer, or parent — is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Becoming a better person is an important thing for any person in any single institution or purpose, from educational or academic instistution, to profit-based entities like corporations. People are the core of those establishments; they are the driving power of the system toward a better future. Improving the people means enhancement of overall performance of the system, including in education as a primary place for people to learn. Advanced nations have good quality citizens that have been forged by better education system compared to developing countries. To become a better person is not only about improving something good insed the person. Clearly enough, the system also must prevent any unwanted things from the people, and in doing so they need to carefully assess the negative sides of each person in their system. The statement of ignoring the negative actions of the people might result in deleterious impact for the system, and there are some reasons why that is the more compelling case.

Teaching people to become better ones needs complete examination of every aspect of the people that correlates with the teaching target of each institution. Some organizations like schools or even small families absolutely want their younger peers to not only have enough skills and knowledges, but also behave in accordance to the accepted norms and rules. Take a excellent student as an example. The student might have great academic ability proved by his or her scores on all tests given, and praising this is clearly a good and thing. However, that same student might have some bad behaviors that are dangerous for his or her friends or for the future. He or she might like to steal or be rude to other people, and if we do not mitigate this behavior, then we will produce rude young people to the community. Another apple-to-apple example also can be made from the overall academic reports of the student. For example, he or she can have outstanding physical skills in sports that deserve to be rewarded, yet he or she might be left behind in core science skill like mathematic or general knowledge. If those knowledges ignored, the student will face difficulties in his or her career in the future, or closely for their college years or higher education experiences. These examples are sufficient to prove that we can not avoid the obligation to evaluate all sides of people that we teach, including the negative sides that must be remedied before negative consequences arise.

The emphasis of praising only the positive sides of any learners might also have unseen effects for the community. Asian countries are notorious for their industrious and excellent academic teachings, and they produce many amazing scientists and researchers in this era. On the other hand, some these countries are also famous for individuality and social detachment that can be detrimental to the very system in the end. These countries are profusing with technological products, yet nowadays they are facing social problems that might render their future gloomy, take Japan and Korean for example. The hard system of their education may produce the best quality of intellectuals, yet they are also producing a lot of people who can not stand the pressure of life in the future. Neglecting the mental health of the people may cause losses for these countries in the long run because they will have high rate of mortality of productive generations. Another problem is unwillingness of their people to have family will render their future in the dark. These problems are the result of the teaching system that only cares about what people generally glorify, yet they neglect the need of social comfort of the people.

Praising the learners for their achievement is indeed important to boost their confidence and motivation. This method is effective to grow the people more in their learning, as people want to further improve themselves in the fields that they like. However, negative sides indeed are still important to be nullified to achieve maximum education for the people.