To be an effective leader, a public official must maintain the highest ethical and moral standards.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Moral is the fitting of proper behavior of the people in comparison with some agreeable unstated or written social rules that operate within those people’s area. When some people adhere to these rules, let say outsiders from another area, the inhabitants of the area will pay back the respect to these people coming from different cities or nations. The morality and ethics of a certain group of people is uniquely made depending on the culture, the environment, and other factors that attribute for the formation of the social rules. Any leader that wants to be heard or followed must also follow the rules as this leader is also a part of the society. Effective leaderships will result in a good outcome and success for the leader, and it requires adequate to strong support from the people. Thus, obeying the ethics and morals of the people is one of the first keys in gaining success for the leaders.

Public official is the legal leader of a specific area of jurisdiction in a administrative area, and ideally people will vote for a person who has high quality of morals and ethics and it becomes a nature that is inherent as a social response from the people. Nobody, of course, wishes somebody that is problematic, rude, and disrespectful as their leader. When this is the case, people will think that that leader is not worthy for any respect at all; they will not follow or support any program from that kind of leader, and it will be difficult from them to reach the goals. Moreover, if the situation is people are deciding on choosing which candidate will be the right person for the position, then the people who are morally wrong will not have any chance to be selected. Corruptive senators, abusive mayors, or lazy and unproductive ministers will gain contempt from their people in an ideal society whose the citizens are well educated and well mannered. These erroneous leaders can not make an effective impact for the people in the end, and when they create any mistake that becomes well known, it will be hard for them to clear their name and regain trust from the people.

Persuading the people to follow any objection or new program provided by the public officials is a hard task to do. Many people come from different segment of the overall society, and sometimes each segment has different opinion on the matters of ethics, morals, or a broader topic like a new idea of change. For example, New York can be divided into several communities based on religion, ethnicities, and the nation that their ancestors came from years ago. When a city official designs some new programs for the city, this person must persuade all communities that are affected by the new programs. When they can not achieve an agreement or they are not receiving a significant support from all the communities, it will be hard for them to implement the new measures. The leaders of the people must understand and know really well each group of their society to deliver an effective governance. Although those leaders are not a part of a particular group, they still must acknowledge these people’s views. This is why becoming a good leader is really hard when we want to make a change within a diverse society, and the first thing to do is respecting all the morals and ethics of the people and trying not to violate or hurt any of those values.

Another exception can be made when the society of the people is not well established. Sometimes, some areas are naturally unlawful and full of brute. For instance, many area that have high number of crimes are difficult to manage due to violent nature of the people. Even though the leaders already show the right side of morality, it would be difficult for them to make a change. Another example is when there are some places that are newly built that do not yet have any formed moral and ethics. In this area, maybe it will be much easier to manage because people are new to this place and it will be much more flexible to make a change to a place that is still in the development. Nevertheless, all leaders, regardless of the people, must be the prime example for their people in morality and ethics. With this statement in mind, it will be a good start for any public official who wants to make a great positive impact for the people.