“The best way to teach-whether as an educator, employer, or parent-is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.”

Is the best way of teaching for educator, employer or parents to praise positive behaviour and simply turn a blind eye on negative behaviour? I concede that praising positive actions of people is a great way to keep their moral high, however I disagree with the last bit of the statement that says to ignore negative action. I believe that instead when a negative action is performed, a commensurate punishment should be given.

Childhood is considered to be the best time to learn something because a child’s mind is constantly being moulded through his parents, teachers and surrounding. So, if it is taught that one should simply ignore any negative action a child will start believing that there are no consequences to any wrongdoing and make them more likely to commit crimes in their adulthood. For example, if a child breaks a classrooms light and noone objects to it or punishes him; it would be an acceptable behaviour and is more likely to happen again.

As humans, we learn through consequences. If we commit a good deed and are praised for it by others, it gives us satisfaction which makes us highly likely to do it again. Similarly, if we perform a bad deed like stealing and are sent to jail it makes us less vulnerable to commit crime again. If an employer doesn’t pay attention when an employee is procrastinating or being a malingerer, every other employee would start trying to find ways to slack off in turn leading to no work getting done.

In almost every profession, learning through mistakes committed by ourselves as well as those who came before us guides us to new discoveries. For example, copernicus’s finding helped galileo to take the theory further. In the field of art, a novice artist develops various paintings and slowly learns from the ones he recieved praise for and abstains from techniques used in ones he was criticized for. So, looking back at our own mistakes and learning from them instead of merely ignoring is the best way to learn.

In sum, I believe that the best way of teaching is to praise good actions and give appropriate punishment for negative actions to embrace the method of learning through mistakes.