Although many people think that the luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life are entirely harmless, in fact, they actually prevent people from developing into truly strong and independent individuals.

Are luxuries of contemporary life a hurdle preventing us from becoming strong and independent individuals? I concede that sometimes the conveniences today may make us indolent and sluggish however, in a more general sense the luxuries helps us automate perfunctory tasks and reach our true potential.

Right from waking up, we use refrigerator that curbs the need to go grocery shopping everyday, dishwasher that saves us time, public transportation or car that enables us to reach work early, computers to assist us, phones to connect us and the one thing common between all of them is that they save us time helping us focus on more valuable tasks. Today, farming is made easier with various tools to assist and reduce workload.

Previously in various industrial jobs, humans had to perform life-threatening tasks which are now being automated by machinery. The invention of airplanes and internet has helped millions of people to move countries and relocate where they can study and work in the field they like helping them become independent individuals.

For people that cannot learn skills like dancing, singing, painting due to financial reasons, internet has provided them with abundant opportunities to learn any skill for free. Many people have achieved recognition for their work through internet.

However, along with plenty opportunuties there are some harms of such conveniences. People are becoming more anxious and depressed through social media, lazy due to televisions and cellphones. The luxuries have made us more and more dependent on it, a day without electricity or machines cannot even be imagined.

In sum, the luxuries and conveniences may sometimes hinder our path in becoming strong and independent individuals but the benefits outweighs it helping us focus on more significant tasks.