Teachers' salaries should be based on their students' academic performance.

The statement contends that the salary of a teacher should directly depend on their students performance. I concede that implementing it as one of the factor affecting salary would give proffesors extra motivation to teach better and guide the students constantly. However, making it a sole factor to decide a teacher’s salary would be injustifiable and prove to be ineffective.

Teaching is a highly respected proffession that comes with huge deal of responsibility as a teacher plays significant role in shaping a student. Academic performance of the teacher’s class may seem like a valid criteria to judge his teaching ability, however if the students are unwilling to learn: best quality of teaching could also fail. For example in many universities one has to take extra electives that are not connected to one’s major, so there is a high possibility that one will not focus on the elective as much as his majors.

Another major problem about the suggesstion is that the subject’s complexity is not taken into account. Most people would agree that english or painting is a relatively easier subject than maths and science. So, there is a high chance that the same students would perform extraordinarily in english but poorly in maths. This would lead to a dissatisfaction among maths teachers as even if they taught really well they would be paid scarcely.

One other major problem with the statement is that it may lead teachers to give higher grades to the students even for poor performances just for higher salary. It may create a state of chaos with incorrect evaluation of students and a dissatisfaction among students who worked really hard but got the same grade as others. Students may also stop studying as a good grade is implicit. The number of students taking the subjectcan also play an important role. For several universities, students are provided with an option to choose the elective subjects they prefer. This would lead to some elective being selected by large proportion of students and some chosen by relatively few students. This may create a bias among teachers.

In sum, implementing students performance as one of the factor affecting salary may instill extra motivation in teachers to perform better. However the disadvantages overweigh them and thus implementing it would be highly ineffective.