Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

The statement contends that there should be very few to no restriction on scientific research and development. I concede with the statement as I believe that research and development is the backbone of any country’s advancement and by employing restrictions, the government is only hindering the country’s progress even when the results seem virulent.

Scientific research and development helps a country move forward and not stay stuck. It makes everyday lives of people easier and automates process to minimize risks. For example, invention of machinery that replaces humans in dangerous jobs or development of vehicles and electricity has given us ample of time to focus on other societal issues. Restrictions imposed on research will have scientists stay in trepid and obstruct them to develop better technology.

Due to fewer restrictions on scientific research and development in america, Edward Teller developed hydrogen bomb that could decimate an entire city in minutes. Though being a very dangerous invention if america didn’t develop it first, other countries would have. As ironic as it is but in todays time as almost every country has nuclear power, the chances of WW3 happening are incredibly low. Another invention that is controversial is AI that can simulate human behaviour completely. There are chances that it can prove to be really harmful for humankind but I believe that anyone who can develop it should not be stopped just its usage should be monitored.

In sum, I agree with the statement that there should be very few to no restriction on scientific research and development. However, I do believe that the research should constantly be monitored.