College students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

Should a college student pursue subjects of his interest or should he pursue courses having highest probability of employment? I concede that a safe bet is to pursue high in-demand field but one may never excel in such a field when his real interest lies in some other field.

Jobs are an ever changing market, years ago noone would have believed that jobs of employees in grocery store chains would be in threat due to automation as seen today in various amazon grocery stores. So, high dependency on statistics of job availability for selecting one’s career path may hinder real progress as even after getting a job, it may be done perfunctorily just for earning a salary.

Having real interest in subjects chosen will encourage students to work harder automatically making the chances of getting employment easier. Even after getting employment, attaining promotions and climbing the ladder would be straightforward. Encouraging students to pursue their real interest will produce imminent scientists, businessmans, painters, doctors etc. who will significantly contribute back to the society.

It is a well known fact that the chances of achieving success in sports or artistic fields are less as compared to technical fields. So, if Picasso, Da vinci, Beethoven were told to pursue fields with more jobs, the world would be devoid of great works of art. Similarly, various inventors like wright brothers, graham bell were told to pursue fields that would give them employment, the conveniences of modern life may have been delayed or not existed.

In general, considering availability of jobs as one of the factors for choosing one’s career path may be plausible but being highly dependent on such statistics may hinder one to excel and contribute to the society.