"Laws should not be rigid or fixed. Instead, they should be flexible enough to take account of various circumstances, times, and places."

The statement contends that rather than being fixed, laws should be flexible enough to take circumstances, time and place into account. I concede that such flexible law would prove effective for certain cases however the bitter consequences for other cases would outweigh the benefits.

What is the source of law? A felt need is a source of law. The felt by everyone in society to feel safe and to be treated equal. If the law was made flexible, certain people of a race, gender, sexuality are bound to feel indignant if people of other race, gender or sexuality where not given the same punishment. Law is supposed to treat everyone equally be it an aristocrat or a mendicant and if that does not hold, people would feel cheated.

Some people could take advantage of flexible law to act on their prejudices, for example in America for the case of George Floyd where an unarmed black man was killed on the spot, if the law was flexible finding loopholes would be much easier and getting justice may have been delayed or even impossible. In general, the process of providing justice could be too complex and biased.

However, minor crimes like driving over speed limit when taking an ill person to the hospital could be excused taking the circumstances into account. As long as any other person is not harmed and the convicted person acted under helplessness, the law could be made flexible.

In sum, I believe that for crimes of higher order flexible law can prove to be biased and leave certain people feeling indignant. However, for certain minor crimes flexible law can prove to be effective and serve its purpose.