“On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals.”

The author of the letter has made an optimistic conclusion from disjointed and incomplete data. The reasoning given by the author to reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians by limiting the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season leaves several questions unanswered and unless these are answered, the conclusion is not justified.

Firstly, the author has developed a correlation between the number of mopeds rented and the number of accidents; without considering any other factors. The accidents may have resulted from bad quality of roads, pedestrians carelessness or mopeds being rented by underage or irresponsible drivers. Further, if pedestrians inattentiveness is an impactful factor in accidents; on reducing number of mopeds rented, more people would prefer to walk thus increasing pedestrians and number of accidents may stay the same or even increase.

Secondly, the author’s argument relies on the assumption that moped rentals is the sole way for island habitants to use mopeds. It is highly probable that significant number of people like to buy moped instead of renting it and the accidents happening could be involving private mopeds instead of rented mopeds.

Thirdly, the author has made an indefensible comparision with the neighboring island of Seaville as seaville achieved 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents. However, the author has provided no details regarding the population, number of mopeds rented, number of mopeds owned privately, number of accidents that happened before, how many moped rental companies are present about Seaville. Without scrutinizing how the decrease was attained by neighbouring island and if the same would hold true for Balmer island, the comparision is injustified.

In sum, it may be said that the writer has failed to make a convincing argument because of the critical flaws in reasoning. To strengthen the argument, statistics about how many private owned mopeds are there and what proportion of accidents are caused by rented mopeds has to be analyzed. Other factor like bad quality of roads or pedestrians fault in accidents should be cleared out. A more detailed study on Seaville has to be presented to make an accurate conclusion.