People’s behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

The statement contends that a person’s actions are heavily influenced by forces not of their own making. I concede with the statement as I believe that a person’s actions are an amalgamation of what society accepts and what one wants and many times the fear of being banished from the society keeps a person’s actions in check. However, there are many exceptional people who didn’t listen to other people and in turn created a better future for generations to come.

Childhood is the most vulnerable state of a human. Children don’t think for themselves: they learn from people around them. “Like father like son”, a well known saying that sheds light on how parents heavily affect a child’s behaviour. It is several times seen that a child who wasn’t taught manners and respect in childhood, grows up to be a surly, unrefined man. At the time of monarchy, there were various countries whose rulers didn’t have a penchant for eachother and it would continue for decades with rulers of each country changing but the dislike was passed down for generations. The new rulers woudn’t even know what the hatred was about but would continue the tradition.

In today’s world for most people, the constant thought of other’s perception about us guides our actions. The trepid of society not accepting one if they are unmarried till forty, don’t have a financially stable job, are not straight etc. guides ones important life’s decision. Media sometimes even showing hyberbolic, biased news influences our political views. “One rotten apple spoils the whole barrel”, a famous saying that indicates how a single bad influence can affect the whole group. However, the external forces that determines one’s behaviour serves significantly useful purposes too. Law and punishment keeps people away from turning to a life of crime and deceiting others and thus ensuring safety of the society.

Throughout history, there are several people who were castigated and not believed by the society at their time who ended up making noteworthy contributions for improving humans life. Copernicus suggested that the Earth revolves around the Sun and relinquished the theory that Sun revolved around Earth that was widely believed during his time. In a society when noone believed that humans could fly in the sky, Wright brothers invented aeroplane. When a women’s role was considered to be a cook and to give children to their husband, some women became iconoclast and demanded equal rights improving the conditions of women.

In general, I agree that in our day-to-day lives other people’s perceptions play a noteworthy role in influencing our behavior but there are numerous people throughout history who rejected a theory or thought process and made the world a better place for future generations.