The best way to teach — whether as an educator, employer, or parent — is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Teaching can be a very tough job. In fact, the teaching is not particular only for education, but it is related almost to every aspect in life. Although there are many ways to deliver teaching, the prompt suggests that the best way to tech is by ignoring negative behaviors and reward the positive ones. In my opinion, mostly disagree with this recommendation and argue that teaching cannot be provided with simply ignoring negative actions and praising the positive ones for two reasons.

To begin, it is undeniable that praising positive actions is an effective method in developing and increase these actions. For example, an employer can increase the enthusiasm of the employees toward the work and the company and to reward them for they work (excluding money reward or promotions) by simply saying “good job”, “good work” or “well done”, or he can even take another step and start inviting them to important meetings, ask for their opinions or allow them to take decisions. All of this will encourage the employees to work fairly, happily and more excitedly toward the successful of the company to get “praised”. The above example illustrates that the employer can “teach” his employees to do more positive actions which will benefit the company by rewarding their positive actions.

However, even though praising their positive actions is a good way of teaching, ignoring their negative actions may lead to destructive consequences. For instance, for parents to ignore their 8 years kid who started using bad words is very huge mistake, because this 8 years kid will not stop at one or two bad words and if this continues, he might end up saying these words to his parents or anyone, so simply he loses respect to everyone and get abandoned from the community. Although these negative actions can be reduced and kept at minimum by overwhelming it with positive ones, but this based on the human nature is considerably rare, besides, this does not eliminate the main issue. To provide a good teaching, one must focus not only on one side, but both the positive and the negative, which will be by increasing the former and limiting the latter.

Of course, some argue that leaving someone to learn from his or her mistakes is an effective way to strengthen him or her. However, this is not always the case, in fact it belongs to the minority of the cases, and the majority just keep doing the same mistakes or even more and his or her life. So, not even looking at the negative behaviors does not considered as teaching, and who want to teach must be concerned with the negative and positive behaviors.