Young people should be encouraged to pursue long-term, realistic goals rather than seek immediate fame and recognition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The younger generation are the basis of the future. Their contribution to this future depends on their goals. The prompt recommends that youngsters not to look for the near future with some insignificant goals, and aim for more robust and rational objectives. In my opinion I strongly agree with this suggestion and argue that young people look at the future not at the present when seeking their goals for two reasons.

To begin, immediate fame and recognition can vanish as quick as it came. The dissipating of this mirage could leave a negative impact on the youngsters. For instance, a young man invests a lot in his relatively famous YouTube channel to reach hundreds of thousands of subscribers in a few years. However, he misses out the best time to enter college or enter the business world and focus on his channel. Later on, as he grew up, his expenses increase, his channel was not enough to support him, his subscribers are not increasing and he is almost out of content for it. Thus, he decided to follow the trend and open a new channel for Gaming, which apparently has a massive fan base. The new channel was a huge failure and merely gets thousands of views, and because of ignoring the old channel, he almost doesn’t get anything back from it. His fall left him broken with no skills, no degree, no source of income and unsuccessful channels in a competitive and harsh world. He should had thought about this situation and prepare for it while at his peak, because fame will not last forever, and it will dissipate at some point.

Further, instant fame and recognition can diminish the passion of a young man and destroy his life. To illustrate, looking at the protagonist of the popular movie series Home Alon, who became very famous at such a young age, but where he is now? Where did he disappear? After reaching his peak, what is the point of passion? With his popularity and wealth, he can try everything he can, but what else? That what destroyed him. With a wealthy, famous and boring life, he went to drugs and became a drug addict. His social life destructed and his life became forlorn. If he was encouraged to seek a long-term and realistic goals and following his passion rather than focusing on his present illusionary achievements, he could have reached a higher peak and live a happy and more productive life.

Of course, some argue that live is short and someone may not be able to accomplish a long-term goal, so it is better to live the moment and enjoy it. However, fame and recognition are not always bad. If it used wisely, it can be a tool to prepare for the future. Also, no one can predict the future and know what is waiting him. Hence, young people should not be frivolous and seek some significant objective that will not only benefit them, but also their societies or maybe even the whole world.